Windy City Champions!

The Chicago Blackhawks capture the Stanley Cup for the first time since 1961

Windy City Champions!

The Chicago Blackhawks have won the 2010 Stanley Cup, earning the ultimate prize in professional hockey with a 4-3 Game 6 victory over the Philadelphia Flyers at the Wachovia Center. Patrick Kane scored the Cup-winning goal at the 4:10 mark of overtime, while Jonathan Toews was named the Conn Smythe winner as the playoffs' Most Valuable Player.

This is the first Stanley Cup victory for Chicago since 1961, a team that featured Blackhawk legends such as Bobby Hull and Stan Mikita. The 49-year drought between Cup victories had been the longest in the NHL, a distinction that now falls to the Toronto Maple Leafs (1967).

Before a raucous crowd in Philadelphia, the young Blackhawks team was able to win its first game on the road in the series, closing out their 4-2 series victory. With goals by Dustin Byfuglien, Patrick Sharp, Andrew Ladd and the sudden-death winner by Kane, Chicago had all the offence that they would need to send them back to the Windy City with a new passenger on-board.

Congratulations to the 2010 Stanley Cup Champion Chicago Blackhawks!